New Years Resolutions for 2009

It’s hard to write these without it looking like some kind of ‘appraisal’ and I question the worth of those at work as it is, so OTTOMH here’s a few simple non-controversial objectives that spring to mind…

1. Get back into going to the gym, Tai Chi and Pilates – I’ve been working silly hours recently and my gym visits and sessions with my trainer have ground to a halt – fitness is really important to me, so before I get even more unfit and overweight…

2. Think of a useful Perl project and get going. I’ve been neglecting my coding for a while = very bad!

3. Finish my ‘David Bowie Owl’ painting and get cracking with some others. I love art and painting is really therapeutic for me, so I need to find time to get back into it.

4. Go to bed earlier – I’ve got into the bad habit of going to bed at about 2am, this is because I seem to think better and be more productive at this time, consequently I have a hell of a job getting up in the morning!

5. Play more games and think more about gaming generally. All my friends know I’m really into games, but I don’t do enough analytical thinking about the application of gaming IMHO – or I could do more😉

6. Travel more, even if that means going on my todd!

7. Read & share more books – I’m not getting enough knowledge in there (taps noodle)!

8. Come up with a really cool and original idea for an event – not as easy as you think when everyone’s putting them on these days😉

9. See more of my awesome friends & family, as I’ve been a bit neglectful – meep!

10. Create more quality video for the web – there’s a whole world out there and not enough opinions / thoughts / creativity being recorded & shared – video is the way to go – rokk on people!

11. Carrying on from Ant Miller’s discussion at BarCampBrighton3 – think some more about ‘A BBC Micro for the 21st Century?’ what this could be and how do we inspire and encourage peeps of all ages in the UK to be inquisitive about tech and look ‘under the hood’ to play and innovate?

12. * Research / promote / encourage women in tech: ladies, we’re here and doing it large – we need to be seen and counted – don’t be shy, or feel like you don’t have something to say – lets make ourselves visable at conferences / research / orgs / depts/ academia and challenge attitudes from the basics upwards, such as the national curriculum and career stereotypes!

13. Life / work balance – I enjoy my job so much I don’t know when to stop sometimes, I need to define my own time and get on with stuff like everything on the list above!

Do let me know if there’s anything blindingly obvious that you think I should add to my list – though pleasant suggestions only, please😉

Happy New Year 2009 to you and yours – hope it’s a great one!

* It’s not that controversial, it’s very reasonable actually and necessary – miaow!

3 responses to “New Years Resolutions for 2009

  1. Happy New Year, Rain!

    Love your resolutions especially the going to bed early one🙂

    Yeah I should start getting better in sharing books i read through the blog as well – but I have already broke my resolution – stop buying stuff I don’t need. Bought 2 pairs of shoes on the 2nd. Could help :p

    xxx

  2. Happy New Year to you too, Cathy!

    Hee yes, going to bed early would probably help me have less stressful mornings!

    Ha, I’m with you on the shoe shopping – there’s always two pairs of shoes that are impossible to chose between😉

    Hope to see you soon😀 xo

  3. Pingback: Taking stock of my 2009 New Year’s resolutions… « I love kittens…